Cockroft and Davies win Susanna Ingram Award

November 4, 2023
Nominees for the Susanna Ingram Awards 2023

Aled Davies and Hannah Cockroft have been voted winners of the Susanna Ingram Award. Aled completed a decade of dominance in the F63 shot put winning gold at the World Para-Athletics Championships in Paris, while Hannah Cockroft won both T34 100m and 800m to take her world title tally to 14. This year was the first time that BASC members could vote for their male and female para-athletes of the year. The Susanna Ingram Award is named after a former BASC Committee member who died from cerebral palsy.

The shortlists for the Susanna Ingram Award comprised our champions from the World Para-Athletics Championships. In the female category, Hannah was joined on the shortlist by Hollie Arnold winning the hotly contested F46 javelin throw to take her 5th world title, Sabrina Fortune winning back-to-back F20 shot put world titles, and Sammi Kinghorn regaining her T53 world title, not to mention success in the Big Half and Great North Run.

In the male category, Aled was accompanied by Jonathan Broom-Edwards retained his T64 high jump title in his first competition of the year, Gavin Drysdale took his second world gold in the T72 framerunning 100m, while Dan Pembroke beat off stiff competition to win the F13 javelin throw and Ben Sandiland triumphed in the T20 1500m.

The winners were announced at the BASC Annual Dinner Weekend.

British Athletics Supporters Club Limited

Registered Office:

28 Orchard Avenue
SY13 1WD

Company No: 07220739
© Copyright 2023 - British Athletics Supporters Club - All Rights Reserved
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram