Club News

Cockroft and Pembroke among annual award winners

2021 award winners 300x300After a two year hiatus due to the pandemic, BASC's annual awards were announced and presented at the club's Annual Dinner on 20 November (2021). Hannah Cockroft and Dan Pembroke's Paralympics performances won them the Susanna Ingram Award. Joy Eze, Edward Faulds, Nia Wedderburn-Goodison and Charlie Carvell celebrated success in the U20 and U18 awards. The BASC Athlete of the Year voted by members was also announced.

Keely Hodgkinson voted BASC Athlete of the Year

2021 keely aotyBASC members voted overwhelmingly for Keely Hodgkinson as the club's Athlete of the Year 2021. Keely won a sensational silver medal in the 800m in the Tokyo Olympics - one of, if not the, standout moment for a British athlete at the Games. The 19-year-old went on to take the 800m title in the Wanda Diamond League to finish top of the rankings for 2021. She also won gold at the European Indoor Championships.

Keely took two thirds of the vote, with Holly Bradshaw the best of the rest. Laura Muir just pipped Hannah Cockroft for third place in the members poll. The winner was announced at the BASC Annual Dinner on 20 November 2021. Josh Kerr, Nick Miller and Daryll Neita were the other shortlisted athletes.

Cockroft voted Athlete of the Games

Hannah Cockroft has been voted BASC's Athlete of the Meet for the 2020 Paralympic Games held in Tokyo a year later than scheduled. Hannah added to her haul of international honours and records with gold medals in the T34 100m and 800m, breaking the world record in the sprint event.

Others on the shortlist were Owen Miller, Dan Pembroke and Thomas Young. Owen won a thrilling race to take gold in the T20 1500m. Dan broke the Games record by 5m in the F13 Javelin Throw to win gold. Thomas converted his European gold in the T38 100m to Paralympic gold, breaking the European record in the process. Over half the votes in the poll were cast for Hannah.

Athlete of the Year 2021 to be announced at BASC Annual Dinner

Voting has closed for club members to select their Athlete of the Year for 2021. The winner will be announced at the Annual Dinner on 20 November.

Bookings open for Annual Dinner 2021

Club members can now book their places for the BASC Annual Dinner Weekend, or for any part of it. The weekend takes place from Friday 19 to Sunday 21 November at Mercure Coventry Brandon Hall Hotel and Spa, our regular venue for the last few years.

To book your place, use our online booking form.

Back to Top