Katarina Johnson-Thompson presented with BASC Athlete of the Year 2019 awardIn the biggest vote and the closest result, Katarina Johnson-Thompson has been voted the British Athletics Supporters Club Athlete of the Year 2019 following her world heptathlon title in Doha. In a thrilling competition, Kat achieved several PBs in individual disciplines, as well as her highest ever points total in a new British Record, beating Olympic and reigning World Champion Nafi Thiam into second place. The award was presented to Kat at the club's Annual Dinner in Coventry.

The result of the vote was a surprise, as many expected last year's Athlete of the Year, Dina Asher-Smith to romp home after a stunning 200m gold, 100m and relay silvers at the World Championship. KJT's achievement in Doha, though, was viewed my many members in the context of disappointing performances at major championships in the past after a great deal of promise. There was a sense of the heptathlete finally fulfilling her potential in what has become a great British tradition in the female multi-events. One thing is sure though, Britain has two world class athletes in Dina and Katarina. The two golden athletes finished only a few votes apart in the biggest turnout in the club's history, with a long gap to third placed marathon runner Callum Hawkins.

BASC has announced the 2019 winners for their various youth awards. Max Burgin, Amy Hunt, Oliver Dustin and Isabelle Boffey will receive their awards at the Club's Annual Dinner in November.

Max Burgin and Amy Hunt win the male and female versions of the BASC Young Athlete of the Year awards. Max ran the fastest 800m in the world by an U18 athlete, breaking a 23 year old British U20 record. Amy also ran a British U20 record and world U18 leading time in a 200m. Whereas Max was prevented to compete in the European U20 Championship, Amy took gold in the 200m and the 4x100m relay.

Max's loss was Oliver Dustin's gain as he took gold in the European U20 Championship 800m. Oliver is awarded the Ron Jewkes Trophy by BASC. Isabelle Boffey also won gold in the European U20 Championship. Finishing 4th in the British Championships, Isabelle has been awared the Katharine Merry Award by BASC.

Sophie McKinna has been chosen as the BASC Breakthrough Athlete at the IAAF World Championships. Sophie threw a personal best of 18.61m in the third and final round of the shot put qualification to book herself a place in the final having surpassed the qualifying distance. At the same time, Sophie has also achieved the qualifying distance required for selection for the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo.

To put Sophie's achievement into perspective, she was the first British athlete to reach the World final in 36 years.

She finished 11th in the final just shy of 18m.

Shortlist 2019

The shortlist for the Club's Athlete of the Year Award has been announced. Medalists from the World Championships and European Indoors are among those nominated for the award, including Dina Asher-Smith and Katarina Johnson-Thompson. For a full list of nominees go to our 2019 Shortlist page.

Club members will receive voting instructions by email. Closing date for voting is Saturday 26 October. The winner will be announced at the Club's Annual Dinner in November.

Now it's even easier to apply for BASC membership, and you can now pay online! The new streamlined process is now operational.

In addition, existing members can renew their membership online, and can also update their details. The new membership portal replaces the old Member's Area on this website - which is no longer accessible. Instead members can use their email address to set up a new login for the membership portal.

Apply for membership or sign in to membership portal here.

Athletics Zone button

Supporters Zone button

Club Zone button

Go to top