Shortlist 2019

The shortlist for the Club's Athlete of the Year Award has been announced. Medalists from the World Championships and European Indoors are among those nominated for the award, including Dina Asher-Smith and Katarina Johnson-Thompson. For a full list of nominees go to our 2019 Shortlist page.

Club members will receive voting instructions by email. Closing date for voting is Saturday 26 October. The winner will be announced at the Club's Annual Dinner in November.

Although Dina Asher-Smith may be favourite following her triple world medal performances, Club members also have high regard for other achievements. Katarina Johnson-Thompson's world title and European Indoor gold must be seen in the context of previous disappointing championship performances, showing a major turnaround. Members also appreciate gutsy efforts, such as Callum Hawkins 4th place in the marathon despite difficult conditions (especially after the events of the Gold Coast marathon), Adam Gemili coming so close to the medals in the world 200m final, and Laura Muir's 5th place in a very fast world 1500m final. The result is definitely not a 'done deal'.

The club has made the following announcement: 'It is our usual practice to include para-athletes in our shortlist for the BASC Athlete of the Year. However due to the lateness of the 2019 World Para Athletics Championships, and a mismatch with our voting schedule (closing before championships begin) and Annual Dinner, we have reluctantly decided not to include any this year. Instead, we will be honouring para-athletes in our Susanna Ingram Award which will be announced after their major championship this November. We will return to our usual practice next year when scheduling of major championships returns to a normal pattern.'

Photos: Mark Shearman

Athletics Zone button

Supporters Zone button

Club Zone button

Go to top