Backtrack - Autumn 2020 editionThe Autumn edition of Backtrack - the magazine for BASC members - is on its way. This issue features an interview with world heptathlon champion and BASC Athlete of the Year for 2019, Katarina Johnson-Thompson, plus columns by Beth Dobbin and club president Katharine Merry. There are a couple of nostalgic articles - one on distance legend Dave Bedford, and the other looking back to the early years of the supporters club.

Unsurprisingly, the effects of the pandemic and lockdown take a high profile as we cover both the athletics that happened and the athletics that couldn't take place. The stunning film 'Rising Phoenix', highlighting para-athletes, is also featured.

If you're a member - look out for Backtrack coming through your letterbox. If you're not a member - why not join for as little as £15 a year, and you will be able to enjoy the magazine 3 or 4 times a year - written by athletics fans for athletics fans.

Club members took advantage of the dearth of championships this summer by voting 4 Athletes of the Meet awards for the Muller British Championships. Harry Coppell, with his new British record in the pole vault won the Male Athlete of the Meet, while Aimee Pratt won the Female Athlete award,

In the Young Athlete of the Meet awards, high jump champion Joel Clarke-Khan and second placed hammer thrower Charlotte Payne were voted top in the Male and Female awards respectively.

Club members voted by Twitter poll immediately after the championship concluded.

Pre-Championships zoomBASC members were treated to a preview of the Muller British Athletics Championships 2020 in a zoom chat with club president Katharine Merry, Wendy Sly and the Backstraight Boys, Jody and Bayo. As well as informed discussion, anecdotes, gags and all round excitement as prepare for the national championships this weekend.

Club members who missed out will get the opportunity to watch a recording - info about how to access is being sent out.

The championships will take place behind closed doors but will be shown live on BBC TV - Friday's action will be on BBC TWO, and Saturday's on BBC ONE, with wrap around coverage on the red button.

To keep up with the Backstraight Boys, you can follow @BackstraightB on Twitter and listen to the Backstraight Boys (& Girl) Athletics Podcasts..

The club was delighted to support the annual UK Winter Long Throws Invitational Meeting at Loughborough University on 7 March, providing prizes for improvement of the day. Club chairman, John Standerline, presented the prize to Bethany Moule with a new PB in the women’s javelin by some 3 metres. Daniel Bainbridge also won the award in the men’s javelin.

Many of the UK’s best throwers competed in the hope of earning a place on the Great Britain team for the European Winter Throwing Cup in Portugal, which sadly has just been cancelled by European Athletics due to  Coronavirus.

The highlight of the day came from Loughborough Alumni Taylor Campbell in the Hammer Throws with a personal best and Paris 2020 European Championships qualifier of 74.98m. Whilst the ladies' overall performance of the day went to Reading AC’s Charlotte Payne, also in the Hammer, with a World Junior Championships qualifying mark of 60.73m. Both won a special performance of the day prize for their outstanding achievements.

Sophie Hahn (Photo: Mark Shearman)Sophie Hahn was announced as the winner of the Susanna Ingram Award at the BASC Annual Dinner held in Coventry, following her stunning performance at the World Para-Athletics Championship in Dubai. Sophie won two gold medals in the T38 100m and 200m. She broke her own world record in the 200m.

The announcement of the award was delayed due to the late scheduling of the World Para Athletics Championships this year. There were a number of athletes in the mix for the award, following a very successful showing by the British team.

The Susanna Ingram Award, named after a former BASC Committee member who died from cerebral palsy. It is awarded to para-athletes chosen by the BASC Committee.

(Photo: Mark Shearman)

Athletics Zone button

Supporters Zone button

Club Zone button

Go to top