BASC Athlete of the Year 2017: Mo Farah

For the second year running, Sir Mo Farah was voted Athlete of the Year by BASC members. It was a gold, silver and diamond year for Mo, winning World gold and silver medals along with the Diamond League 5,000m title. In his final track season, Mo won 10,000m gold at London 2017 in one of his toughest races, surviving two stumbles to take the medal. With the 10,000m taking so much out of him, Mo toughed out the 5,000m with a hard-fought silver medal. He capped the 2017 outdoor season by winning the Great North Run for the third time.

Mo dominated the voting for Athlete of the Year from a short-list of seven. Dina Asher-Smith, who took relay silver and a 4th place finish in the individual 200m, was runner-up in the vote, with CJ Ujah coming third after his sprint relay gold medal and Diamond League 100m title.

Other award winners are highlighted below...

BASC Award Winners 2017

Breakthrough Awards 2017

Throughout the year, BASC make a number of awards to athletes who are not on UK Athletics funding and have made a special performance at a major international championship.      Special performances include personal bests, or qualifying for a final at that championship i.e. it is “special” in relation to their current performance level.Awards are made at the discretion of the BASC Committee and they receive a certificate, a cheque for £250 and an invitation to the Annual Dinner.

European Athletics Indoor Championships, Belgrade    

Sarah MacDonald    6th in 1500m
Theo Etienne     5th in 60m on his international debut


European Athletics Team Championships, Lille   

Lennie Waite     2nd in 3000m Steeplechase
Dwayne Cowan    Winner in 400m Final in a PB  


IAAF World Championships, London   

Reece Prescod      7th in 100m Final
Zoey Clarke       7th in 400m Semi Final in a PB

Athlete of the Meet Awards 2017

A new award this year taps into social media. Events with a mass viewing for UK members eg on TV or in the UK are selected. At major meets, at the discretion of the sub-committee, there could be more than one category.  The sub-committee nominates 4 athletes (per category if more than one) as soon as possible after the event has concluded and a Twitter Poll is launched for 24 or 48 hours. At the end of the poll social media is updated,  and the winner  receives a cheque for £100 and an invitation to the Annual Dinner.

European Athletics Team Championships: Ben Williams
British Championships: Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake   
London Anniversary Games: Tom Bosworth

IPC World Championships  

Female Para-Athlete: Samantha Kinghorn
Male Para-Athlete: Aled Davies  

IAAF World Championships

Field Athlete: Nick Miller     
Female Athlete: Dina Asher Smith
Male Athlete: Mo Farah (Mo asked that we donate his £100 award to Save the Children)

Muller Grand Prix (Diamond League): Dwayne Cowan  

Athletics Zone button

Supporters Zone button

Club Zone button

Go to top