2016 BASC Awards

This year we made significant revisions to our Athlete of the Year voting process. Any member could nominate any British athlete, and the top nominations - Dina Asher-Smith, Jessica Ennis-Hill, Mo Farah, Adam Gemili, Sophie Hitchon, Laura Muir and Jazmin Sawyers - were put onto a shorlist for voting. And members voted in record numbers with Mo Farah a clear winner, and Sophie Hitchon narrowly beating Laura Muir for the runner-up spot. Mo accepted his award by video-link to the BASC Annual Dinner as he was overseas training for London 2017. 

George Mills

George Mills is the BASC Young Male Athlete of the Year. He was a clear winner of theEuropean U18 800m title, front running and beating two Italian athletes ranked above him. 

George moved to third on the all time list in that age group with 1:48.36 in Oxford. He also became the second fastest ever over 1500m, running 3:44.43 at Trafford. BASC member Jan Campbell presented George with his award at the club's Annual Dinner.


Athletics Zone button

Supporters Zone button

Club Zone button

Go to top