2016 BASC Awards

This year we made significant revisions to our Athlete of the Year voting process. Any member could nominate any British athlete, and the top nominations - Dina Asher-Smith, Jessica Ennis-Hill, Mo Farah, Adam Gemili, Sophie Hitchon, Laura Muir and Jazmin Sawyers - were put onto a shorlist for voting. And members voted in record numbers with Mo Farah a clear winner, and Sophie Hitchon narrowly beating Laura Muir for the runner-up spot. Mo accepted his award by video-link to the BASC Annual Dinner as he was overseas training for London 2017. 

Holly Mills

Holly Mills is the BASC Young Female Athlete of the Year. She won the European U18 long jump with a jump of 6.19m into a headwind and also won three national age group titles.

Competing against the seniors, Holly took third in the senior British championships. Holly's coach, James Coney, was a awarded a BASC bursary toward his travel costs to accompany Holly to Tbilisi for the European U18 Campionships. BASC member Jean Bradford presented Holly with her award at the club's Annual Dinner.


Athletics Zone button

Supporters Zone button

Club Zone button

Go to top