2016 BASC Awards

This year we made significant revisions to our Athlete of the Year voting process. Any member could nominate any British athlete, and the top nominations - Dina Asher-Smith, Jessica Ennis-Hill, Mo Farah, Adam Gemili, Sophie Hitchon, Laura Muir and Jazmin Sawyers - were put onto a shorlist for voting. And members voted in record numbers with Mo Farah a clear winner, and Sophie Hitchon narrowly beating Laura Muir for the runner-up spot. Mo accepted his award by video-link to the BASC Annual Dinner as he was overseas training for London 2017. 

Callum Wilkinson

Callum Wilkinson, who won a Rising Star award earlier in the season, wins the Ron Jewkes Trophy for the best male U20 performance of 2016.

Callum was nominated for his World U20 10,000m walk gold medal - the first global walks title won by a Briton for over fifty years.

Callum also came fourth in the 10km walk at the IAAF Race Walking Team Championships and broke a number of records through the season. Callum was presented with the trophy by club member Hannah Boyd.


Athletics Zone button

Supporters Zone button

Club Zone button

Go to top