2016 BASC Awards

This year we made significant revisions to our Athlete of the Year voting process. Any member could nominate any British athlete, and the top nominations - Dina Asher-Smith, Jessica Ennis-Hill, Mo Farah, Adam Gemili, Sophie Hitchon, Laura Muir and Jazmin Sawyers - were put onto a shorlist for voting. And members voted in record numbers with Mo Farah a clear winner, and Sophie Hitchon narrowly beating Laura Muir for the runner-up spot. Mo accepted his award by video-link to the BASC Annual Dinner as he was overseas training for London 2017. 

Morgan Lake

Morgan Lake wins the Katharine Merry Award for the best female U20 performance of the year.

Morgan was the winner of the senior British high jump titles indoors and out. She finished tenth in the Olympic high jump but it is for her seventh place in the world indoor pentathlon championships that she was nominated.

Athletics Zone button

Supporters Zone button

Club Zone button

Go to top