2016 BASC Awards

This year we made significant revisions to our Athlete of the Year voting process. Any member could nominate any British athlete, and the top nominations - Dina Asher-Smith, Jessica Ennis-Hill, Mo Farah, Adam Gemili, Sophie Hitchon, Laura Muir and Jazmin Sawyers - were put onto a shorlist for voting. And members voted in record numbers with Mo Farah a clear winner, and Sophie Hitchon narrowly beating Laura Muir for the runner-up spot. Mo accepted his award by video-link to the BASC Annual Dinner as he was overseas training for London 2017. 

Kadeena Cox wins the 2016 Susannah Ingram Award for her gold medal performance in the T38 400m at the Rio Paralympic Games in a world record 1:00.71.

Kadeena made a big impact in Rio also winning relay silver in the T35-38 4x100m and her bronze in the T38 100m, as well as a cycling gold medal in the C4-5 Time Trial. She becomes the first British paralympian to win gold in different sports at the same games since 1984. The award was announced at the BASC Annual Dinner Weekend in Coventry.


Athletics Zone button

Supporters Zone button

Club Zone button

Go to top