2016 BASC Awards

This year we made significant revisions to our Athlete of the Year voting process. Any member could nominate any British athlete, and the top nominations - Dina Asher-Smith, Jessica Ennis-Hill, Mo Farah, Adam Gemili, Sophie Hitchon, Laura Muir and Jazmin Sawyers - were put onto a shorlist for voting. And members voted in record numbers with Mo Farah a clear winner, and Sophie Hitchon narrowly beating Laura Muir for the runner-up spot. Mo accepted his award by video-link to the BASC Annual Dinner as he was overseas training for London 2017. 

Mo Farah

Mo Farah, double Olympic and World 5000m and 10,000m champion, was voted by BASC members as their Athlete of the Year.

Mo became the first Briton to win four athletics gold medals at the Olympic Games, winning the 5000m/10000m double for the second consecutive Games. Mo’s dominance of the long distance track events at major championships – he has five gold medals in the World Championships - is a strong argument for him being Britain’s greatest ever athlete.

2nd: Sophie Hitchon

3rd: Laura Muir


Athletics Zone button

Supporters Zone button

Club Zone button

Go to top