2016 BASC Awards

This year we made significant revisions to our Athlete of the Year voting process. Any member could nominate any British athlete, and the top nominations - Dina Asher-Smith, Jessica Ennis-Hill, Mo Farah, Adam Gemili, Sophie Hitchon, Laura Muir and Jazmin Sawyers - were put onto a shorlist for voting. And members voted in record numbers with Mo Farah a clear winner, and Sophie Hitchon narrowly beating Laura Muir for the runner-up spot. Mo accepted his award by video-link to the BASC Annual Dinner as he was overseas training for London 2017. 

Mo Farah

Mo Farah, double Olympic and World 5000m and 10,000m champion, was voted by BASC members as their Athlete of the Year.

Mo became the first Briton to win four athletics gold medals at the Olympic Games, winning the 5000m/10000m double for the second consecutive Games. Mo’s dominance of the long distance track events at major championships – he has five gold medals in the World Championships - is a strong argument for him being Britain’s greatest ever athlete.

2nd: Sophie Hitchon

3rd: Laura Muir


Kadeena Cox wins the 2016 Susannah Ingram Award for her gold medal performance in the T38 400m at the Rio Paralympic Games in a world record 1:00.71.

Kadeena made a big impact in Rio also winning relay silver in the T35-38 4x100m and her bronze in the T38 100m, as well as a cycling gold medal in the C4-5 Time Trial. She becomes the first British paralympian to win gold in different sports at the same games since 1984. The award was announced at the BASC Annual Dinner Weekend in Coventry.


Morgan Lake

Morgan Lake wins the Katharine Merry Award for the best female U20 performance of the year.

Morgan was the winner of the senior British high jump titles indoors and out. She finished tenth in the Olympic high jump but it is for her seventh place in the world indoor pentathlon championships that she was nominated.

Callum Wilkinson

Callum Wilkinson, who won a Rising Star award earlier in the season, wins the Ron Jewkes Trophy for the best male U20 performance of 2016.

Callum was nominated for his World U20 10,000m walk gold medal - the first global walks title won by a Briton for over fifty years.

Callum also came fourth in the 10km walk at the IAAF Race Walking Team Championships and broke a number of records through the season. Callum was presented with the trophy by club member Hannah Boyd.


Holly Mills

Holly Mills is the BASC Young Female Athlete of the Year. She won the European U18 long jump with a jump of 6.19m into a headwind and also won three national age group titles.

Competing against the seniors, Holly took third in the senior British championships. Holly's coach, James Coney, was a awarded a BASC bursary toward his travel costs to accompany Holly to Tbilisi for the European U18 Campionships. BASC member Jean Bradford presented Holly with her award at the club's Annual Dinner.


George Mills

George Mills is the BASC Young Male Athlete of the Year. He was a clear winner of theEuropean U18 800m title, front running and beating two Italian athletes ranked above him. 

George moved to third on the all time list in that age group with 1:48.36 in Oxford. He also became the second fastest ever over 1500m, running 3:44.43 at Trafford. BASC member Jan Campbell presented George with his award at the club's Annual Dinner.


Athletics Zone button

Supporters Zone button

Club Zone button

Go to top