What an exciting European Championships! So many memorable moments. Club members chose Charlie Dobson's stunning silver medal performance in the 400m in a personal best time as their favourite. Charlie just missed out on gold in an epic duel with Belgium's Doom.

The shortlist also included: Dina Asher-Smith blazing from the back to the front of the 100m field to win gold in the event for a second time (as well as a sprint relay gold); Keely Hodgkinson dominating the 800m despite being under-the-weather to retain her title; Calli Haugen-Thackery heading our half-marathon team to take team gold and also an individual bronze. Charlie Dobson's PB to take silver in the 400m in an epic duel with Doom; Georgia Bell the best of the British 1500m runners taking silver; George Mills stepping up to the 5000m to win silver; and Megan Keith's gutsy bronze in a fast 10,000m.

The BASC Committee selected their Breakthrough Performance of the championships. The award goes to Romell Glave who won a bronze medal in the 100m.

Club members overwhelmingly voted Molly Caudery as their memorable moment at the World Athletics Indoor Championships in Glasgow. Following on from her three world leading pole vaults in this indoor season, Molly won her first global medal, taking gold in a field comprising many of the best women vaulters.

The Great Britain and Northern Ireland athletics team, though small, saw success at the home world indoor championships in Glasgow. BASC shortlisted four outstanding British performances for members to select their memorable moment. We witnessed another Super Saturday this time with two gold medals. As well as Molly Caudery, Josh Kerr, pacing himself and forcing his way through a crowded field at times, conquered the 3000m, making this his second global gold. On the last evening, home favourite Jemma Reekie took 800m silver in a class field. Laviai Nielsen, just missed out on an individual medal with 4th place in the 400m, but came away with a relay bronze medal and a British record.

The BASC Committee selected their Breakthrough Performance of the championships. The award goes to Georgia Bell who placed 4th in the 1500m final.

Katarina Johnson-Thompson was voted by BASC members as their Athlete of the Year following her stunning heptathlon victory at the World Athletics Championships in Budapest. Katarina returned from injuries and setbacks to reclaim the world title. She was chosen from a shortlist of seven athletes comprising world champions, European indoor champions and record breakers during the 2023 indoor and outdoor seasons.

Our shortlist for the Athlete of the Year included our European Indoor Champions: long-jumper Jazmin Sawyers with her first 7m leap, Keely Hodgkinson who also won a silver medal in the world championships as well as becoming Wanda Diamond League 800m champion breaking the British record, and the 1500m champion, Laura Muir. Our World Athletics Champions are also represented: Josh Kerr with his stunning 1500m victory as well as Katarina Johnson-Thompson. Zharnel Hughes who broke the longstanding British 100m and 200m records as well as winning world bronze in the 100m and Matt Hudson-Smith who broke the longstanding European 400m record on his way to winning world silver are also on the list.

Katarina was announced as Athlete of the Year at the club's Annual Dinner.

Aled Davies and Hannah Cockroft have been voted winners of the Susanna Ingram Award. Aled completed a decade of dominance in the F63 shot put winning gold at the World Para-Athletics Championships in Paris, while Hannah Cockroft won both T34 100m and 800m to take her world title tally to 14. This year was the first time that BASC members could vote for their male and female para-athletes of the year. The Susanna Ingram Award is named after a former BASC Committee member who died from cerebral palsy.

The shortlists for the Susanna Ingram Award comprised our champions from the World Para-Athletics Championships. In the female category, Hannah was joined on the shortlist by Hollie Arnold winning the hotly contested F46 javelin throw to take her 5th world title, Sabrina Fortune winning back-to-back F20 shot put world titles, and Sammi Kinghorn regaining her T53 world title, not to mention success in the Big Half and Great North Run.

In the male category, Aled was accompanied by Jonathan Broom-Edwards retained his T64 high jump title in his first competition of the year, Gavin Drysdale took his second world gold in the T72 framerunning 100m, while Dan Pembroke beat off stiff competition to win the F13 javelin throw and Ben Sandiland triumphed in the T20 1500m.

The winners were announced at the BASC Annual Dinner Weekend.

We are delighted to publish Great Places to Run, a full colour 2024 wall calendar for the athletics fan in your life!

£10 including postage and donation to support British athletes.

It is with sadness that BASC has learnt that its Company Secretary, Jon Mason has died suddenly.

Jon had been a BASC member since 2004 and Company Secretary since 2012.

Jon had travelled to Santiago, Chile at the end of August as a technical delegate for the Para Pan American Games and his death occurred while he was there.

Jon’s untimely and unexpected death is an inestimable and overwhelming loss to his family to whom BASC extends its heartfelt condolences. His death is also a massive loss to BASC, Sale Harriers, where he was Club Chairman and to athletics.

Jon was especially well known and highly regarded as a highly experienced, enthusiastic and knowledgeable top level Track & Field official. He only recently passed the World Athletics Silver Referee qualification. Jon was readily available and ever present at Track & Field events from Regional and National leagues to the UK Indoor and Outdoor Championships. He was selected as a top level technical Official for the Birmingham Commonwealth Games, the London 2012 Summer Olympics and many other major events especially in more recent times, Para Athletic Championships.

Budapest 2023 proved to be a memorable world championships for the sport with superb performances and thrilling memories. BASC members voted Josh Kerr's brilliant victory ove Ingebrigsten in the 1500m as their most memorable moment, proving that lightning can strike twice after replicating Jake Wightman's feat from Eugene last year. The BASC Committee also selected Molly Caudery's 5th place and PB in the pole vault final as their Breakthrough performance of the championships.

Our other individual medalists were shortlisted for the memorable moment: Katarina Johnson-Thompson delighted British fans with her second world gold in the heptathlon, made even more special after her injuries and struggles over the last few years. Silver medalist Matthew Hudson-Smith won silver with his gutsy 400m final run, having already broken the long-standing European Record in the semis. For Keely Hodgkinson it was another silver in the 800m - surely that gold will come? Ben Pattison became the first British man to win an 800m medal in the last 36 years with a gutsy bronze. Zharnel Hughes capped a memorable season (breaking both 100m and 200m British records) by capturing bronze in the 200m.

Other athletes considered for the club's Breakthrough Athlete award were Anna Purchase and Eugene Amo-Dadzie.

British Athletics Supporters Club Limited

Registered Office:

28 Orchard Avenue
SY13 1WD

Company No: 07220739
© Copyright 2023 - British Athletics Supporters Club - All Rights Reserved
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram